helloalissa

Is it your dream to teach English in Japan?

About Me

beppuyarnart

After a sand bath in Beppu, with awesome local art in the background.

(You might be wondering)

Who the heck are you anyway?

The day I moved to Japan, it was still dark out as I rode the bus to the airport, then it started snowing – in March. This is unusual for Portland, Oregon and was the first snow that winter.

I wasn’t freaking out yet, but about a week later, I corrected a new friend. He said, “You sure don’t look like you’re freaking out.” I told him, “I’m like an m&m: solid on the outside but all melty on the inside.”

It’s not for everyone, but I had a life changing experience in Japan, despite freaking out temporarily while things were in transition.

I will teach you how to get a job teaching English in Japan and answer the top questions you have about if it’s the job for you.

You don’t need to do all the research on your own, I can answer your questions and make it simple for you, or at least point you to the resources you need.

I have taught English as a Second Language at public junior high and elementary schools, preschools, private conversation schools, private and small group lessons, plus at camp in Japan. I’ve taught at two camps in S. Korea and at private ESL schools and ESL camps in the United States. (I’ve also taught zine workshops and tutored English in Hong Kong.)

I wrote a Kindle ebook  (PDF version) about the first year I worked in Japan, only 5 bucks if you want to check it out. I’m currently working on more resources to help you score a great job teaching as an ALT in Japan.

Japan is my favorite, so after almost three years in America, I came back to work in public schools again. I’m currently in Kyushu, near Fukuoka city. After a short time working at a junior high school again as well as four elementary schools, I’m ready for something new. Working at five schools is a little crazy! Freelance work is a good fit for me right now.

I would like to hear from you: why you’re interested in teaching ESL, why you want to live in Japan, and your questions about teaching English in Asia.

PS: Engrish is funny, so I’ll also put Engrish photos here but mostly on my Instagrammar from time to time. There’s an email subscription option, which you can use to see my articles if you don’t use WordPress very often .

I don’t want ads on my site (other than the ones from having a free WordPress account), but if I can earn something for my writing time, it’s great. I’m working on some ideas. I publish some of my articles on City-Cost.com, and it’s a great resource for people living abroad in Japan (or just interested in it). I recommend using the site if you’re also a foreigner living in Japan, because you can earn Amazon.jp credit for writing or answering questions and surveys.

I offer a discount for the 150 hour online TESOL Certificate I got through Midwest Education Group. If you register for their course, mention you heard about it from hello alissa and use the code “Tesol@Chicago” for $20 off.

2 comments on “About Me

  1. Masaki Suzuki
    December 16, 2015

    HI there! I’m glad you are having a good time there in Japan! I was born and raised in Japan but I moved to the US, and it’s been about 4 years since I came over here.

    I’m an English major and looking to become a translator/interpreter. I’m also interested in teaching Japanese. I know this is sort of a vague question, but what is it like to teach your mother tongue in a foreign country? What obstacles have you gone through so far? I’m sure teaching Japanese in the US is not going to be the same experience but I’d like to know! Looking forward to hearing from ya!

    Like

    • helloalissa
      January 4, 2016

      Sorry for the delay in replying and thank you for the comment.
      I think it depends on the situation and the person, but I really enjoy helping students learn English. It feels natural because I’m using English and also feels like meaningful work. It’s sometimes surreal that I can earn a good salary just because English is my native language, without much teaching skill.
      The obstacles are the different education system in Japan compared with teaching practices at more conversation focused private schools I taught at in America. It can sometimes be challenging if I try to do things my own way.
      When I was in the US, I was tutored by a Japanese university student practicing to become a teacher. She loved explaining Japanese grammar and drilling me to get the pronunciation and verb changes correct. I’m really thankful there are people like you interested to teach others Japanese or do translations. It takes a lot of patience and hard work!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 15, 2015 by in Living in Japan, Teaching English and tagged .

My ebook, No Time For Love

Instagrammar

#engrishasasecondlanguage

ESL Zines and other Teaching Maerials

https://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Helloalissa
